Saturday, February 25, 2012

Yes, I am kicking this back up.

Directly from an EPL spokesman back in 2006:

"As a rule, if the initial attempt is goal-bound, it is credited to the player making the goal attempt. However, if the deflection means that a wayward effort results in a goal then it is attributed to the player who had the last definitive touch of the ball."


I'd now love to see anyone argue that Clint Dempsey is not owed one goal. By the way, I've also learned the Dubious Goals Panel does not meet at every reviewable instance, they meet periodically to review several goals at once.

This ain't over.




- Greg Seltzer

18 comments:

Nick said...

Seems like it was on frame but plainly not goal bound. Otherwise, it simply would have gone in prior to any touch from the keeper.

Surely, there's some sort of precedence for player to cross bar to keeper to goal. We'll see.

Greg Seltzer said...

How can a shot be on frame and not goal-bound? Had the keeper not initially gotten a touch, it would have gone in directly.

Nick said...

Actually....my mistake if the keeper got a hand on it prior to hitting cross-bar. Mis-remembering. Disregard.

Phil McCracken said...

Oh, boy. Here we go again.

Greg Seltzer said...

I have found a direct quote on it from an EPL spokesman, which was what I was told the lack of automatically nullified the position.

How there can possibly be argument now is beyond me. We shall see.

Jay Eychaner said...

Fight! Fight! Fight!

Jay Eychaner said...

I mean... this is The Internet. Of course there'll be an argument.

dikranovich said...

dear lord, help our friend greg see the light. he knows not what he sees, yet he sees much. help him find clarity.

thank you lord.

Greg Seltzer said...

I was told an EPL source was needed to convince. There it is.

dikranovich said...

"its over johnny".

Greg Seltzer said...

Are you seriously this allergic to factual realities?

When the next Dubious Goals Panel meets and they don't rule it his goal, THEN it's over.

Greg Seltzer said...

I mean, good grief.

Phil McCracken said...

Greg - I hope that they meet soon. It would be great for Dempsey to get full credit for that strike.

dikranovich said...

well chili, considering you have intoduced as evidence, what maybe could be called a general proposition, it would be nice if you could get up besides it the rule that talks about the momentum. get that rule back up next to this proposition from epl headquarters and we can debate some more.

dikranovich said...

lean on me is on. (1989) morgan freeman, awesome actor. greatest roll ever, brubaker. but he is not bad as joe clark. if you did not have a teacher like joe clark growing up, then you missed out.

a corner heading for the six yard line is headed in by a defender, and it is a clear own goal. but, what if an inswinger is headed into the goal by a defender. and we are talking about a goal bound inswinger. neither situation has to do with the dempsey own goal, just fruit for thought.

the dempsey own goal. if you believe that the ball hit the crossbar and was not bound for the goal, you have to call this an own goal. so, as the ball is leaving the crossbar and you plot its trajectory, if that line goes down to the ground and is outside of the goal, well bingo. B-I-N-G-O, and bingo was his name oh.

morgan freeman just talked sans down off the roof. go get em boss.

Greg Seltzer said...

"the dempsey own goal. if you believe that the ball hit the crossbar and was not bound for the goal, you have to call this an own goal"


Yes... and if you believe the tooth fairy leaves a dollar under your pillow, then the tooth fairy exists to you.

The keeper touched the initial goalbound shot on to the bar. Fact.

dikranovich said...

cc, you keep confusing the fact that sorenson made a save and still gave up an own goal, with your own weak conjecture. think about it. the soccer ball hit the crossbar, fact, no getting around it. what happens after it hits the crossbar is all that matters.

Greg Seltzer said...

"what happens after it hits the crossbar is all that matters."


Please know that I say this to you brimming with so much of all the possible girlish glee in the world, I'm like that blonde chick on Cougar Town x a junior high pep squad:


Show us an EPL rule that explicitly says this.