Monday, January 7, 2013

Wambach nets first FIFA World POY prize (updated)

Finally! Abby Wambach has become the first USWNT player to win the award since Mia Hamm in 2002, accepting from presenter Hope Solo. Another teammate, Alex Morgan, finished third in the voting. As I find more and better video clips form the event, I will add/switch them in here.

- Greg Seltzer


Paul Poenicke said...

Congrats to Abby on finally getting her long deserved FIFA POY. Now only if Abby, Hope, and the other candidates would have stopped the proceedings to ask Sepp about his past comments about the women's game, as well as his questionable ethics, lack of leadership on technology and racism....oh well, at least one of my dreams was met. Again, congrats to a under-appreciated member of the US WMT, a strong leader for women on and off the pitch, and, from what I can tell as a fan, a quality person.

UnitedDemon said...

Great job, Abby!

Have to wonder if Marta in a coma still gets (at least) second place. She had an extremely off year by her own standards, Sinclair deserved at least a nod.

Greg Seltzer said...

I agree the award has done a great job of ignoring Wambach and Sinclair over the years. Believe it or not, neither had so much as a third place finish until last year.

dikranovich said...

abby wambach is one of the most unplayable players the womens game has ever seen. she is a veritable beast. she sure is not under appreciated amongst usa fans. is she???